Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Issue Rating Scales

When an Issue is captured, the next step is to examine the issue by undertaking an impact analysis. The impact analysis should include rating the issue on severity and priority, but what scales should you use?

In the PRINCE2 Change Management Approach, part of the Project Initiation Document (PID), you are asked to define the scales for severity and priority. The PRINCE2 Change theme doesn't give you any examples or specific recommendations on which rating levels to use. Here is one suggestion that might help:

When examining the issue you need to understand what impact the issue has on the project objectives relating to:
  • Time, cost, quality and scope
  • Business Case and benefits
  • Other dependent deliverables
  • Risk profile

When rating severity, the question to ask is: What is the level of impact on project objectives?
Below is a suggested 5-level scale:
  • Severe: Critical objective(s) will not be achieved
  • Significant: Stated objective(s) will fall below acceptable level
  • Moderate: Stated objective(s) will fall below goals but above minimum acceptable levels
  • Minor: Stated objective(s) will fall below goals but well above minimum acceptable levels
  • Negligible: No or little impact on achieving objectives

When rating priority, the question to aske is: How high is the urgency of getting this issue resolved?
Below is a suggested 5-level scale:
  • Very High
  • High
  • Medium
  • Low
  • Very Low
If the above scales are used, you can visualize where the issues are on a 5x5 matrix, with color coded green, yellow and red zones. 

Related articles:
All the PRINCE2 logs and registers - can it be simplified?

No comments:

Post a Comment